Bily Clocks

323 S. Main Street
Spillville, IA 52168

  (563) 562-3569


A collection of carved clocks created by the Bily Brothers, Frank & Joseph. Also housed is a exhibit in memory of the famous Czech Composer Antonin Dvorak. A small admission fee is charged. Tours are given regularly.

Calmar Train Depot

Calmar Train Depot

N. Maryville
Calmar, IA 52132


In the early railroad years, Calmar had 22 tracks of communication. All passengers got off in Calmar, to visit or stay in the area.

This depot was partially restored in 1989 and the canopy restored in 1998. It is currently a tourist information center and is the beginning of the Prairie Farmer Bike Trail which was established in 1989 on an old railroad bed.

Decorah Fish Hatchery

2321 Siewer Spring Road
Decorah, IA 52101



See trout of all sizes in tanks as they are reared before release intostreams. Fish food and trout stocking information is available.

Open Daily.

Free of Charge

The Decorah Fish Hatchery is located two miles south of Decorah in Winneshiek County. The area is extremely popular among visitors to this scenic region of Iowa. The picturesque limestone office and residence date back to the 1930s as a project of the Civilian Conservation Corps.

Effigy Mounds National Monument

151 Hwy 76
Harpers Ferry, IA 52146



Effigy Mounds National Monument is located 3 miles north of Marquette, Iowa off highway 76. Established by presidential proclamation in 1949,the Indian mound building culture that regularly constructed mounds in the shape of mammals, birds, or reptiles. The monument contains 2,526 acres with 195 mounds of which 31 are effigies. 

The visitor center, located at the park entrance, contains museum exhibits, an auditorium and book sales outlet. Visitors may look at the mounds, spectacular views from bluffs along the Mississippi River and more than 100 acres of prairie by walking along 11 miles of hiking trails. No roads exist in the park. Three mounds are accessible to disabled visitors in the immediate vicinity of the visitor center.

There are no lodging or camping facilities in the park.

Fort Atkinson State Preserve

Fort Atkinson State Preserve

Fort Atkinson, IA



Was built to keep the Winnebago Indians on Neutral ground after their removal from Wisconsin in 1840 and to provide protection for them from the Sioux, Sauk, Fox and from white intruders on Indian land. The annual Fort Atkinson Rendezvous Days happens the last full weekend in September. It is FREE to the public and gives visitors the opportunity to witness what frontier life in the 1940's might have been like.

Lake Meyer

2546 Lake Meyer Road
Fort Atkinson, IA 


This 156 acre park is the County Conservation Board's headquarters. Lake Meyer offers tent & trailer camping, drinking water and showers, toilets, skiing, hiking trails, picnicking areas, lake fishing a 38 acre lake, boat ramp and a nature center.

The Park is located one mile west off Highway 24 between Calmar and Fort Atkinson.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Park & Museum

3603 - 236th Avenue
Burr Oak, IA 52101



This nationally recognized landmark is the only childhood home remaining on its original site. Her little house books have thrilled children and adults alike with tales of pioneer life since 1932. The"missing link" in her series of books was the year she spent in Burr Oak and comes between her stories of "On the Banks of Plum Creek" and"By the Shores of Silver Lake".

Little Brown Church in the Vale

2730 Cheyenne Avenue
Nashua, IA 50658


Over 40,000 visitors come to the Little Brown Church each year, and over 400 weddings are performed annually. In June of 2005, the 72,000 wedding was held at the church. The congregation is alive and well with an active Sunday School, youth groups, choirs, ladies’ fellowship, Bible study, a prayer chain group, and weekly services at 10:30 on Sunday. They remain, as they were founded, a Congregational Church. The song continues to be sung in a little church that is painted brown and sits in the wild wood.

Locust School

Locust School

Locust, IA 

Locust school was in continuous operation for one hundred and six years. Reportedly this is an Iowa record for a school building on its original site.

The school was built in 1854, six years after the Winnebago Indians ceased occupation of the neutral ground. The village of Locust had been surveyed and settled two or three years earlier. 

To ensure that future generations of students would not forget the days of one-room schools, the Locust School Society was founded in 1965 to preserve this unique school. It's limestone structure is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978, the Winneshiek County Historical Society presently owns and operates Locust School. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day Saturday & Sunday afternoons. On W38at A26.


P.O. Box 372
Clermont, IA 52135

  (563) 423-7173
  Nadine West

Journey into the past at the home of Iowa's 12th governor, William Larrabee and Anna Larrabee, his wife. Enjoy a guided tour to see and hear how the Larrabee family furnished and maintained this 1874 vintage brick and natural limestone mansion for more than 100 years. All of the furnishings are original to the house. The State Historical Society of Iowa owns and preserves Montauk which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. It is designated as a State Preserve.

Open noon to 4 .m. daily, Memorial Day weekend to October 31. Open other times by special arrangement for group tours.

Niagara Cave

29842 CO 30, P.O. Box 444
Harmony, MN 55939 


Niagara Cave is one of the most fascinating and unique geologicalattractions in the United States. During the one-hour guided tour,visitors will witness a waterfall, nearly 60 feet high, stalactitesboth delicate and massive, calcite flowstone, fossils that have beendated to over 400 million years old, and a wedding chapel in which over400 weddings have been performed, plus much more.

Niagara cave is a constant 48 degrees year around, so a light jacket or sweat shirtis suggested. Walking shoes are recommended. Also, because there are several sets of stairs on the cave tour wheelchairs and strollers cannot be used on the tour. However, the gift shop is wheelchair accessible.

Porter House Museum

401 W. Broadway St.
Decorah, IA 52101


This Victorian Home built in 1867 is a reminder of the golden age in Decorah history. It is a memorial to lifetime resident Adelbert Field Porter, nationally known collector and naturalist. Open Memorial Day to Labor Day, Saturday and Sunday or by appointment. Admission is charged.

Prairie Farmer Recreational Trail

Calmar- Cresco, IA


The Prairie Farmer Recreational Trail -- not just a great way to get from here to there. A great for walking, roller-blading, cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, people watching, bird watching, observing wildlife, enjoying nature and many other great ideas just waiting to be discovered. Bicyclists, joggers, hikers, and cross-country skiers are all invited to use the trail. Snowmobiles are allowed on a restricted basis between Ridgeway to near Cresco only. The small part of Northeast Iowa that you'll see while on the trail will say it all. We have fresh air, clean water, and open spaces. Discover Iowa. Discover the Prairie Farmer Recreational Trail.

Seed Savers Exchange & Heritage Farms

3094 North Winn Road
Decorah, IA 52101


Located 5 1/2 miles North of Decorah, is the home to 15,000 rare vegetable varieties as well as 2,000 varieties of seeds from Eastern Europe and Russia. Tours are available. Open to Visitors 9-5 daily.

Spook Cave

13299 Spook Cave Road
McGregor, IA 52157


Early settlers of Clayton County often referred to the strange noises coming from a hole at the base of the hill along Bloody Run Creek, but it took Gerald Mielke to make the discovery of nature's handiwork. These beauties are now available to the public. Guided boat tours tell about the discovery and development of the cave. Formations are also pointed out and described. No walking involved; underground, out of the weather - always 47°F.

St. Anthony of Padua Chapel

St. Anthony of Padua Chapel

Festina, IA


Located a few miles west of Festina, IA off of Hwy 150, the St. Anthony of Padua Chapel or the "World's Smallest Church" seats 8 people, has a 12 x 16 foot interior, normal sized doorway and pews, and 30-ft. +steeple. Built in 1886 to honor a mother's vow to build a chapel if herson returned safely from the Napoleonic War.

Privately owned: open during daylight hours.


Watch for signs off IA 150 and IA 24

Trout Run Trail

Decorah, IA 52101


The 11 mile paved trail looping around the City of Decorah is an inviting outdoor experience for bikers, walkers and runners of all ages.

Vesterheim Norwegian-American Museum

523 W. Water St.
Decorah, IA 52101


Located in Decorah, 10 miles North of Calmar, this museum depicts carved furnishings, vibrant decorative arts, and traditional costumes of old Norway.

Winneshiek Wildberry Winery

1966 337th. St.
Decorah, IA 52101


Experience Winneshiek Wildberry Winery's country wines featuring five unique varieties. Tour the vineyard and winery and visit the 1,300 square foot artisan shop. Spend time on the spacious outdoor patio or indoor rose garden. You'll also find wine accessories, walking trails, and over 30 varieties of flowers nestled along the winery's landscaping. This 140-year family farm is the perfect setting to relax and enjoy a taste of the country.